Scholarship and Fellowship Advisement Council

Charge: The Scholarship and Fellowship Advisement Council advises the provost on Lamar’s participation in high profile, national scholarship and fellowship programs including those offered by Phi Kappa Phi, Mellon, Rhodes, Cooke, Fulbright, McNair Scholars, Goldwater, Madison, Truman, Marshall, Gates, Udall, Javits, Gilman/Boren-NSEP/DAAD, Texas Space Grant Consortium, Rotary Ambassadorial, National Defense, and NIST/NSF-REU offerings. Faculty and staff advisors for each are recommended by the Reaud Honor’s College dean and appointed by the provost. Mentoring, resources, and guidance to student applicants shall be provided by the council.

Membership & Reporting: Members and chair appointed by the Provost; charge to Committee given by Provost; recommendations from Committee presented to Provost.

Committee Members

Kevin Dodson (Phi Kappa Phi, Mellon, Rhodes, Cooke), Chair Appointed
Jim Armacost (Udall) Appointed
Cristian Bahrim (National Defense) Appointed
Stephanie Chadwick (Javits Fellowship) Appointed
Kumer Das (NIST/NSF-REU) Appointed
Bianca Easterly (Arts & Sciences-Truman) Appointed
Jim Jordan (Texas Space Grant Consortium) Appointed
Rebekah Maxwell (Rotary Ambassadorial) Appointed
Donna Meeks (Fine Arts & Communication) Appointed
Mark Mengerink (Arts & Sciences-Madison) Appointed
Harley Myler (Engineering-Goldwater) Appointed
Mary Scheer (Fulbright) Appointed
Erin Clarke (McNair Scholars) Appointed
Jeff Palis (Gilman/Boren-NSEP/DAAD) Appointed
Steve Zani (Arts & Sciences-Rhodes/Marshall/Gates) Appointed