LU Cares Committee

Charge: Lamar Cares [(formerly known as the Behavioral Assessment and Intervention Team (BAIT)] shall report to the associate vice president for student engagement/dean of students on issues pertaining to student behavior and the need for university resource intervention. The membership shall consist of the chief of police, the assistant chief of police, the Title IX coordinator, the director of the health center, and counselors from the health center. In addition, representatives from residence life, disability services, student engagement, and the faculty shall serve. The associate vice president for student engagement/dean of students shall serve on and chair the BAIT.

Membership & Reporting: Members are appointed per positions identified in LU Cares policy; Associate Vice President for Student Engagement or designee chairs committee; Recommendations from Committee presented to appropriate Vice Presidents.

Committee Members

Terry Mena (Assoc. Vice President & Dean of Students), Chair Ex Officio
Mary Atkinson (Housing & Residence Life) Ex Officio
Jeff Bell (Title IX Coordinator) Ex Officio
Adrienne Blackwell-Starnes (Faculty Representative) Ex Officio
Brenda Dixon (Title IX Investigator) Ex Officio
Melinda Finkle (Undergraduate Advising Center) Ex Officio
Hector Flores (Chief of Police) Ex Officio
Shawn Gray (Director, Health Center) Ex Officio
Shannon Hicks (Counselor) Ex Officio
Lakrystal Joubert (Student Financial Aid) Ex Officio
Cynthia Ksiazek (Counselor) Ex Officio
Kyle Mutz (Disability Resource Center) Ex Officio
Jennifer Schneider (Student Engagement) Ex Officio
Erin Tabor (Disability Resource Center) Ex Officio
TBD (Global Diversity, Inclusion, & Intercultural Affairs) Ex Officio