Judge Joe J. Fisher Lecture Series Committee

Charge: The Judge Joe J. Fisher Lecture Series Committee shall coordinate arrangements for the Fisher Lecture, Lamar’s most prestigious lecture series. The committee shall consist of an elected faculty member from each college (two from Arts and Sciences, one from the liberal arts and one from the sciences) and the library, plus the Student Government Association president and a representative from the Deans’ Council, Council of Instructional Departments, Faculty Senate, Lamar Institute of Technology, and Lamar State College-Port Arthur. The acting associate provost, a representative of Judge Fisher’s family, and representatives from university advancement, marketing, and public relations shall serve as ex officio members. The committee chair shall be elected from and by the members.

Membership & Reporting: Members and chair are elected from Colleges/Campuses (via Council of Presidents). *Former LUS Committee, terms first set 1999.  Called as endowment funds permit.

Committee Members

Joe Nordgren (Acting Associate Provost), Organizational Chair Ex Officio
Tracie Bryan-Craig (Director, University Event Center) Ex Officio
Kate Downing (Exec. Director, Marketing Communications) Ex Officio
Courtney Horton (Assistant to President) Ex Officio
Buddy Low (Representative of Fisher Family; 838-6959) Ex Officio
Brian Sattler (Director, Public Relations) Ex Officio
Juan Zabala (VP, University Advancement) Ex Officio
Marleen Swerdlow (Business) FALL 2018-SUM 2021
Melissa Armentor (LIT) FALL 2017-SUM 2020
Heather Reading (Fine Arts & Communication) FALL 2017-SUM 2020
Robert Spina (Deans' Council) FALL 2017-SUM 2020
Ramesh Guduru (Engineering) FALL 2016-SUM 2019
Caitlin James (LSC-PA; jamescr1@lamarpa.edu, 409-984-6145 office) FALL 2016-SUM 2019
Trina Nolen (Library) FALL 2016-SUM 2019
Ian Lian (Arts and Sciences) FALL 2015-SUM 2018
Matt Pyne (Arts and Sciences) FALL 2015-SUM 2018
Cheri Acosta (Faculty Senate) FALL 2017-SUM 2018
Dillon Nicholson (President, SGA) FALL 2017-SUM 2018
Julia Yoo (Education and Human Development) FALL 2014-SUM 2017
Mary Kelly Scheer (CID Representative) FALL 2016-SUM 2017
LSC-O declined to serve