Institutional Biosafety Committee

Charge: The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) shall advise the Associate Provost for Research and Sponsored Programs (AVP-Research) matters related to recombinant and synthetic nucleic acid molecules, microbial pathology, virology and viral vectors, biosafety, biotoxins, transgenic plants, transgenic animals or biotechnology. Reviews by the committee are to ensure that activities involving biological agents and the facilities used to conduct such work are compliant with internal and NIH policies and guidelines. The IBC shall coordinate with the Office of EHS & Risk Management to ensure that such activities meet the standards of sound biological safety practice emphasizing protecting personnel, the public, and the environment. The IBC shall consist of at least five members who collectively have experience and expertise in recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecule technology, the capability to assess the safety of research with recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules, and the ability to identify any potential risk to public health or the environment. At least two of these individuals must not be affiliated with the institution for reviewing activities funded by sponsored grants.

Membership & Reporting: Appointment of faculty members from various colleges by AVP-Research for renewable three-year terms, the compliance officer from the Office Research and Sponsored Programs, and at least one representative from the Office of EHS & Risk Management; chair elected by the IBC members and appointed by AVP-Research; charge to Committee given by AVP-Research; recommendations from Committee presented to AVP-Research. Federal training is required for service. 

Committee Members

Jerry Lin (Associate Provost, Research & Sponsored Programs), Chair Ex Officio
Kole Kubicek (Biology) Serve until replaced
James Henry (Engineering) Serve until replaced
Clayton Jeffryes (Engineering) Serve until replaced
Ashwini Kucknoor (Biology) Serve until replaced
Nathan Macy (EHS - Lab Inspector) Serve until replaced
Maryam Vasefi (Biology) Serve until replaced