Athletic Council

Charge: The Athletic Council shall advise the president on matters of policy relating to NCAA and Southland Conference intercollegiate athletics. Appointed by the president, members of the Athletic Council shall be selected from the faculty, department chairs, deans, administrative staff, and student body. The chair of the Athletic Council shall be designated by the president as the institution’s representative to the Southland Conference. Along with the director of athletics and the senior women’s athletic administrator, the institutional representative shall be a member of the advisory council, which is the operating body of the conference. The institutional representative shall be the individual designated by the president to cast the university’s vote at sessions of the advisory council. In the absence of the president (who is a member of the Board of Directors of the conference), the institutional representative shall represent the university in meetings of the Board of Directors and cast the institution’s vote. Likewise, in the absence of the president, the chair of the Athletic Council shall be authorized to represent the university at meetings of the NCAA.

Membership & Reporting: appointment of members & chair by President; charge to Committee given by President; recommendations from Committee presented to President.

Committee Members

Hsing-wei Chu (CID Representative), Chair Appointed by President
Norman Bellard (Interim Athletic Director) Ex Officio
John Bello-Ogunu (VP, Global Diversity, Inclusion, and Intercultural Affairs) Ex Officio
Andrew McMahan (Band) Ex Officio
Rosa Mickens (Athletics) Ex Officio
Eric Shannon (Music) Ex Officio
Helene Thill (SWA) Ex Officio
Jerry Bradley (Arts & Sciences) FALL 2017-SUM 2020
Toni Mulvaney (Faculty Representative) FALL 2017-SUM 2020
Vic Zaloom (Engineering) FALL 2017-SUM 2020
Adrienne (Katt) Blackwell-Starnes (Faculty Senate) FALL 2016-SUM 2019
Bob Spina (Deans Council/Education & Human Development) FALL 2016-SUM 2019
Shenid Bhayroo (Fine Arts & Communication) FALL 2015-SUM 2018
John Carroll (Arts & Sciences) FALL 2015-SUM 2018
Brad Mayer (Business) FALL 2015-SUM 2018
Uliana Trylowsky (Staff representative) FALL 2015-SUM 2018
Sarah Tusa (Library) FALL 2015-SUM 2018
James Bowen (Student appointed by President) FALL 2017-SUM 2018
Marly Smith (Student appointed by President) FALL 2017-SUM 2018