Academic Information Technology Committee

Charge: The Academic Information Technology Committee shall advise the provost on matters relating to computer and information technology services for faculty and instructional needs. The committee shall consist of three faculty representatives from the College of Arts and Sciences, two representatives from each of the other colleges, and one representative from the library. In addition, there shall be a representative from the Lamar Institute of Technology, the Student Government Association, the Faculty Senate, the Council of Instructional Departments, and the Deans’ Council. Also, the coordinator of media services; the coordinator of library systems; the chair of computer science; the chair of MIS; the vice president for information technology; the director of academic computing; a representative from distance education; and the acting associate provost shall serve on the committee. The faculty representatives shall be elected by and from the full-time faculty, and the other members shall serve because of their positions. The chair shall be elected by and from the membership.

Membership & Reporting: Faculty Senators/Deans conduct election for faculty members; chair is elected from and by members; charge to Committee given by Provost; recommendations from Committee presented to Provost. 

Committee Members 

Sujing Wang(Arts & Sciences), Chair FALL 2023-SUM 2026
Patrick Stewart (Chief Information Officer)  Ex Officio
Jing Zhang (Chair, Computer Science) Ex Officio
Samuel Jator (Sr. Associate Provost) Ex Officio
Brett Welch (Vice Provost, Digital Learning; Dean, Graduate Studies) Ex Officio
John Genuardi (Director, Media Services) Ex Officio
Poornima Gunasekaran (Library, Interim Head, Systems) Ex Officio
Don Warren (Director, School of Accounting & Information Systems Ex Officio
Eunjin Kwon (Faculty Senate) Ex Officio
TBD (Academic Council) Ex Officio
TBD (Director, Customer Support Services) Ex Officio
Kaye Shelton (Education & Human Development) FALL 2024-SUM 2027
Daniel Bartlett (Arts & Sciences) FALL 2022-SUM 2025
Jane Liu (Arts & Sciences) FALL 2022-SUM 2025
Dale Fontenot (Business) FALL 2022-SUM 2025
Purnendu Mandal (Business) FALL 2022-SUM 2025
Donna Fong (Education & Human Development) FALL 2023-SUM 2026
Thinesh Selvaratnam (Engineering) FALL 2023-SUM 2026
Chun-Wei Yao (Engineering) FALL 2022-SUM 2025
Andre Favors (Fine Arts & Communication) FALL 2024-SUM 2027
Jennifer Thompson (Fine Arts & Communication) FALL 2022-SUM 2025
Eunjin Kwon (Faculty Senate) FALL 2022-SUM 2025
Elizabeth Sanders (Library) FALL 2022-SUM 2025
Joe Kruger (CID Representative) FALL 2022-SUM 2024
Blake Wilson (SGA appointee) FALL 2023-SUM 2024