Academic Council

Charge:  The Academic Affairs Council shall advise the provost on matters pertaining to academic policy and the quality of instruction in all academic programs of the university.  The council shall review program proposals in any field of study, inform department chairs of all academic policies recommended by the council, recommend policies pertaining to academic procedures, and recommend changes in academic matters that will improve instruction and standards.

Membership & Reporting:  members are current deans; appointment of other members by Provost; Provost chairs and gives charge to the council.

Committee Members

Dann Brown (Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs), Chair Ex Officio
Samuel Jator (Sr. Associate Provost) Ex Officio
Brett Welch (Vice Provost, Digital Learning; Dean, Graduate Studies) Ex Officio
Gene Theodori (Associate Provost) Ex Officio
Jerry Lin (Associate Provost, Research & Sponsored Program) Ex Officio
Katrina Brent (Assistant Provost for Enrollment Management) Ex Officio
Mustapha Jourdini (Exectutive Director OIES) Ex Officio
Kyle Boudreaux (Executive Director - Data Analytics, Reporting, and Analysis) Ex Officio
Theresa Hefner-Babb (Assistant Provost, Accreditation & Assessment; SACSCOC Liaison) Ex Officio
Christy Thomas Ex Officio
Brandie Fontenot Ex Officio
Lynn Maurer (Dean, Arts & Sciences) Ex Officio
James Lumpkin (Interim Dean, Business) Ex Officio
Alberto Ruiz (Dean, Education & Human Development) Ex Officio
Brian Craig (Dean, Engineering) Ex Officio
Golden Wright (Interim Dean, Fine Arts & Communication) Ex Officio
Michael Saar (Interim Dean, Library) Ex Officio
Tilisa Thibodeaux (Dean, Texas Academy TALH & Reaud Honors College) Ex Officio