Calendar of Events

2018 Julie & Ben Rogers Community Service Awards Ceremony

December 13, 2018
03:00 PM - 05:00 PM
8th Floor, University Reception Center, Mary and John Gray Library

The Lamar University Foundation manages an endowment which provides for the Julie and Ben Rogers Community Service Award each year. The endowment was established in 1979 with a generous gift from Julie and Ben Rogers. The purpose is to acknowledge and provide a $1000 award to a member of the faculty or staff who made a significant contribution to community service in Southeast Texas. Since 1980, 89 awards have been presented. It was the Rogers' hope that as a result of this award, additional recognition would be given to those who continue to volunteer their time, talents and services for the benefit of our communities, and that others would be encouraged to become volunteers as well.

Each year four recipients, one each from Lamar University, LIT, Lamar State College-Orange and Lamar State College-Pt. Arthur, are chosen. This year's recipients are: 

  • Dr. P. J. Couch for Lamar University, award presented by Mr. Dean Terrebonne.
  • Mr. Patrick Calhoun for LIT, award presented by Dr. Lonnie Howard.
  • Ms Linda Cheatham for LSC-Orange, award presented by Dr. Thomas Johnson.
  • Ms. Diana Crutchfield for LSC-Pt. Arthur, award presented by Dr. Betty Reynard.

Dr. James Marquart will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

Join us as we celebrate these deserving recipients.

Bel Morian/Andrea Davis

« Go Back