Student Organizations

The College of Engineering hosts and encourages all engineering students to take part in engineering student organizations that span across all five departments, with a Student Engineering Council (SEC) serving as the governing body.

The SEC is comprised of members from multiple student organizations, coordinates events throughout the year, and develops plans to increase student involvement.  SEC involvement is sponsored by Motiva.

College of Engineering

Alpha Omega Epsilon
Advisor: Dr. Ozga Gunsydin-Sen 409-880-8267
ozge.sen@lamar.edu

Blockchain Students Society
Advisor: Dr. Jane Liu 409-880-880-7741
jliu@my.lamar.edu

EWB - Engineers Without Borders
Advisor: Dr. Mien Jai 409-880-2356
mien.jao@lamar.edu

NSBE - National Society of Black Engineers
Advisor: Dr. Tianxing Cai 409-880-7006
tcai@lamar.edu

Robotic Cardinals
Advisor: Dr. Jenny Zhou 409-880-8770
jenny.zhou@lamar.edu

Tau Beta Pi
Advisor: Dr. John Gossage 409-880-9788
jlgossage@lamar.edu

SWE - Society of Women Engineers
Advisor: Dr. Berna Tokgoz 409-880-8815
berna.tokgoz@lamar.edu

Sigma Phi Delta
Advisor: Dr. Cengiz Sen 409-880-7876
csen@lamar.edu

Society of Automotive Engineers
Advisor: Dr. Jenny Zhou 409-880-8770
jenny.zhou@lamar.edu

SASE- Society of Asian Scientists and Engineers
Advisor: Dr. Chun-wei Yao 409-7008
cyao@lamar.edu

SHPE-Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers
Advisor: Dr. Nicholas Brake 409-880-8765
nicholas.brake@lamar.edu

 

Chemical Engineering

Omega Chi Epsilon
Advisor: Dr. Clayton Jeffryes 409-880-8784
cjeffryes@lamar.edu

AIChE - American Institute of Chemical Engineers
Advisor: Dr. Tracy Benson 409-880-7536
tjbenson@lamar.edu

Lamar University Brewers
Advisor: Dr. Clayton Jeffryes 409-880-8784
cjeffryes@lamar.edu

 

Civil Engineering

ASCE - American Society of Civil Engineers
Advisor: Dr. Nicholas Brake 409-880-8765
nicholas.brake@lamar.edu

Chi Epsilon
Advisor: Dr. Qin Qian 409-880-7559
qin.qian@lamar.edu

 

Electrical Engineering

Eta Kappa Nu
Advisor: Dr. Gleb Tcheslavski 409-880-7622
gleb@lamar.edu

IEEE - Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers
Advisor: Mr. Hussein Almallahi 
hussein.almallahi@lamar.edu

 

Industrial Engineering

ASIT - American Society of Industrial Technology
Advisor: Dr. Xinyu Liu 409-880-8815
xinyu.liu@lamar.edu

IISE - Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers
Advisor: Dr. Kelley Bradley 409-880-7045
robert.bradley@lamar.edu

Alpha Pi Mu
Advisor: Dr. Kelley Bradley 409-880-7045
robert.bradley@lamar.edu

INFORMS - Institute for Operation Research and The Management Science
Advisor: Dr. Alberto Marquez 409-880-8809
alberto.marquez@lamar.edu

SME - Society of Manufacturing Engineers
Advisor: Dr. Liu 409-880-8807
xinyu.liu@lamar.edu

 

Mechanical Engineering

ASME - American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Advisor: Dr. Chun-wei Yao 409-7008
cyao@lamar.edu

Pi Tau Sigma
Advisor: Dr. Jenny Zhou 409-880-8770
jenny.zhou@lamar.edu

 


The SEC would like to thank Motiva for all of their support.

Motiva logo