Dr. Bryan Proksch lecture Music and Oil in Beaumont, the Magnolia Petroleum Band and John Philip Souza

distinguished faculty- lecture sponsored by total.png
NOVEMBER 12 • 6:30 PM


Harry James learned to play trumpet while wearing a Magnolia uniform. Come hear about a time when a blue-collar band from Beaumont captivated audiences across all of North America.The Magnolia Band performance was the first thing ever transmitted on KFDM radio. Its director created the first highschool band in Beaumont and led the symphony.

Proksch hosts a music history show, "Behind the Music," on 91.3 KVLU Public Radio, with the goal of making the history of music fun, relevant and accessible to all. Bryan Proksch is associate professor of music history at Lamar. He has published two books, including one on Sousa, as well as numerous essays in leading musicological journals on both the history of bands and classical music.


bryan-proksch.jpgDr. Bryan Proksch
"On January 22, 1924, across the street from where LU was still in its first academic year, bandmaster John Philip Sousa, the first celebrity of American popular music, conducted the Magnolia Petroleum Band at noontime concert on the grounds of the Magnolia Refinery in Beaumont."

- Dr. Bryan Proksch

Previous recipients of this honor include:

Regents' Professor Dr. John Storey-History (1987); Regents' Professor Dr. Bill Pampe-Geology (1988); Regents' Professor Naaman Woodland-History (1989); Regents' Professor Dr. John Carroll (1990); Regents' Professor Dr. Sam Parigi-Economics (1991); Regents' Professor Jerry Newman-Art (1992); Dr. Donna Birdwell-Anthropology (1993); University Professor Dr. Ronald H. Fritze-History (1994); University Professor Dr. James Esser-Psychology (1995); University Professor Dr. Jean F. Andrews-Deaf Studies/Deaf Education (1996); Regents' Professor Dr. James Pizzo-Physics (1997); Walles Chair and University Professor Keith Carter-Art (1998); Dr. Jim Westgate-Geology (1999); Dr. Jim L. Jordan-Geology (2000); University Professor R.S. Gwynn-English and Modern Languages (2001); Dr. Jim Sanderson-English and Modern Languages (2002); Dr. Richard Harrel-Biology (2003); Dr. Terri Davis-Political Science (2004); Dr. Kenneth T. Rivers-English and Modern Languages (2005); Dr. Christine Bridges-Esser-English and Modern Languages (2006); Dr. J. Lee Thompson-History (2007); Dr. Dianna Lipp Rivers-Nursing (2008); Dr. Dorothy Sisk-Professional Pedagogy (2009); Dr. Rafael Tadmor-Engineering (2010); Dr. George Irwin-Physics (2011); Dr. James Esser-Psychology (2012); Dr. Catalina Castillon-English and Modern Languages (2013); Dr. Jerry Lin-Engineering (2014); Dr. Steven Zani-English and Modern Languages (2015), Dr. Julia Fischer-Art History (2016), Dr. Sara Hillin (2017), Dr. M.K. Hamza (2018).