Awards and Grants

Student Awards

Research prizes for graduate and undergraduate students for topics related to the Center and its mission.  One prize already in place is the Dr. Andrew J and Betty H Johnson Editor’s Prize for the best paper on the history of Southeast Texas and the Gulf region, managed by the editor of the The Texas Gulf Historical and Biographical Record, now housed in the History Department. Other multi-disciplinary awards will be established.  In addition, awards will be given through the Office of Undergraduate Research (O.U.R.).

Hasse Conference, fall 2017, research awards:

  1. Natalie Sfeir, Dept .of Speech and Hearing Sciences, Mentor Dr. Ashley Dockins, "Dementia Friendly Community in Beaumont"
  2. Shelvin Jackson, Dept. of History, Mentor Dr. Mary Scheer, "The Effects of Hurricane Harvey"
  3. Tanner Driskill, Dept. of History, Mentor Dr. Mary Scheer, "Volunteers and Hurricane Harvey"

2016-2017 Research Grant Recipient:

Caitlin McAlister, Dept. of History, Mentor Dr. Bryan Proksch, "Sousa's Correspondence and Business Papers"