Department Scholarships

Congratulations to our 2017 - 2018 department Lamar Mirabeau Scholars:

Tara Hoch
Govin Kaggal
Kara Fiken

Congressman Jack Brooks

Jack Brooks Scholarships in Government and Public Service

The late Charlotte and Jack Brooks established the Jack Brooks Scholarship in Government and Public Services. Congressman Jack Brooks had a close personal relationship with Lamar University for over 50 years. Due to his tireless efforts in the Texas Legislature, Lamar was propelled from a two-year college to a four-year university – a contribution that would later prove indispensable to the university’s current prestigious standing as a Carnegie Doctoral Research University.  He was among the first members of the U.S. Congress to incorporate interns into his office staff. Educational opportunities were also greatly expanded through the Congressman’s sponsorship of significant pieces of national legislation including the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and the Civil Rights Act of 1991, and his help in writing and passing both the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965. The scholarship is awarded to outstanding students who seek a career in legal, government, or teaching.

2017-18 Recipient: Jordan Rodeheaver

Past Brooks Scholarship Recipients:
Kevin "Chase" Engman (University of Alabama School of Law)
Sarah Irwin (University of Oklahoma School of Law)
Miriam Morgan (Executive Director, Habitat for Humanity)
Andy West  (practicing attorney, Houston, TX)
Melinda Griffith (Legislative Liason, Texas Association of Builders)
Brandon Monk (practicing attorney, Port Arthur, TX)
Ryan Gross (practicing attorney, Houston, TX)
Dr. Alisa Hicklin Fryar (tenured Associate Professor, University of Oklahoma)
Courtney Gabriele (practicing attorney, Houston, TX)

Dr. Irvin O. Dawson Scholarship in Political Science

Houston attorney David J. Beck established the Dr. Irving O. Dawson Scholarship in Political Science to honor his former political science professor for his mentorship and compassion for higher education. Dr. Dawson came to Lamar in 1951 and served for 20 years with 11 of those serving as chair of the Political Science Department. Port Arthur native David J. Beck, who established the Dawson Scholarship in his professor's honor has publically stated that Professor Dawson “knew [his] economic background and helped [him] get part-time jobs to make some money and stay in school.  He was a tremendous influence on me.” Mr. Beck is now a successful Houston trial attorney, and was appointed by Chief Justice William Rehnquist to the Judicial Conference Standing Committee on Rules and reaffirmed to the position by current Chief Justice John Roberts in 2007.

2017 -18 Recipients: Siara Dodds and Katey McCall

Past Dawson Scholarship Recipients:
Emily Richard LeBlanc (attending University of Oregon School of Law)
Matthew Minick (practicing attorney, Liberty, TX)

 Marilyn and Gilbert Adams Jr. Scholarship in Pre-Law

Established by the children of Marilyn and Gilbert Adams, Jr. to honor their parents, the Adams Scholarship is open to sophomore, junior and senior level students majoring in Political Science with a demonstrated intent to continue their education after graduation to obtain a Juris Doctorate degree.

2017 - 2018 Recipient: Emily Lawrence

Past Adams Pre-Law Scholarship Recipients:
Ernesto Alvarez (Practicing attorney; graduate University of Texas School of Law)
Emily Richard LeBlanc (University of Oregon School of Law)
Sarah Irwin (University of Oregon School of Law)

 Carl D. Levy Memorial Scholarship

The Carl D. Levy Memorial Scholarship in Arts and Sciences was established in honor of Mr. Carl Levy by his wife, Doris Rosinger Levy. The scholarship is open to undergraduates pursuing a degree in a pre-professional major in the legal field.

2017 - 18 Recipients: Siara Dodds and Robert Root

Past Levy Scholarship Recipients:
Amirah Mohammad (Florida International School of Law)

 David J. Beck Scholarship in Political Science

Mr. David Beck established the David J. Beck Regents Scholarship in Political Science and increased the endowment to the status of Regents Scholarship in 2016. Mr. Beck served as a Regent of the Lamar University System and also served on the Lamar University Foundation Board. He was also named a Lamar University Distinguished Alumnus and is an active trial lawyer.  In 2011, the Department of Political Science nominated and the Board of Regents approved Mr. Beck to receive an honorary doctorate from Lamar University.

2017 - 18 Recipients:  Robert Root and Raegan Minaldi

Past Beck Scholarship Recipients:
Garrett Brawley (practicing attorney; graduate - University of Texas School of Law)
Javier Cabanillas (Baylor University School of Law)
Miriam Morgan (Executive Director, Habitat for Humanity)
Brian D. Williams (University of North Texas, Public Administration, Emergency Management)

 Jimmie P.Cokinos Endowed Scholarship for Equality in Education

The Cokinos Scholarship was established by the Cokinos family in memory of Jimmie P. Cokinos, civic leader and former Mayor of Beaumont. In 1956, as Mayor, Cokinos was instrumental in integrating Lamar State College of Technology by using his authority to avoid race riots and allow black students to safely enter Lamar’s campus to enroll. Even while facing violence and retaliation, Mayor Cokinos stood firm and continued to serve after leaving the position in 1960. He was City Manager from 1968-1970 and later was elected as Jefferson County Precinct 1 Commissioner, serving three terms from 1992 – 2004. At age 87, as his political career came to a close, Jimmie was still devoted to serving the community and protecting civil liberties. With this scholarship, Jimmie’s family seeks to fulfill his lifelong quest for justice and equality in education.

2017 - 18 Recipient: Naomi McCormick