The DAISY Faculty Award

The DAISY Foundation, as part of its service to the nursing profession’s role in patient care, established the DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty. Each Spring, the Joanne Gay Dishman School of Nursing and the DAISY Foundation publicly recognize an extraordinary nursing instructor nominated by students, faculty, and/or staff at our Annual Student Awards Banquet.  Prior to the banquet, students are invited to nominate a faculty member for the award.   All faculty members nominated for the award are invited to attend the Annual Student Awards Banquet. Recognition of the award is presented to the winner at the evening banquet.

The DAISY Faculty Award honorees personify Lamar University JoAnne Gay Dishman School of Nursing’s remarkable impact on students and therefore patients. These faculty members consistently demonstrate excellence through their clinical / teaching expertise and extraordinary compassionate care, and are recognized as outstanding role models in our nursing community.

The award is based on nominations submitted and is evaluated by a selection committee of the DAISY Award Committee of the Dishman School of Nursing. The nominations are reviewed using a double-blind system so that none of the reviewers are able to identify the person who wrote the nomination during the honoree selection process.  

Find out more about the DAISY Award / Foundation

Previous DAISY Faculty Award Winners

Cindy Pipkins
Cynthia Pipkins, PhD, RN
Ruthie Robinson
Ruthie Robinson, PhD, RN, FAEN, CEN
Jenny Thedford
Jennifer Thedford, MSN, RN, CCRN-K
Rose Harding
Rose Harding, MSN, RN
LeAnne Chisholm
LeAnn Chisholm, PhD, RN, CNE
Gina Hale
Gina Hale, PhD, RN, CNE
Cindy Pipkins DAISY Award Winner for 2014
Cynthia Pipkins, PhD, RN
Jennie Godkin
Jennie Godkin, PhD, RN
Rose Harding
Rose Harding, MSN, RN