Student of the Year

Beginning in the 2013-2014 academic year, the history department has named one exceptional undergraduate history major or minor the recipient of the Student of the Year award. Since the 2015-2016 academic year, the Student of the Year winner has also received the Dr. Paul E. Isaac History Award, a cash prize made possible through the generosity of Mrs. Nancy C. Isaac. Her husband, Dr. Isaac, spent most of his career as a history professor at LU.


Angela Hutson was honored as the 2019-2020 Student of the Year.

Angela Hutson

Past Student of the Year winners

2018-2019: Hope Flores
Hope Flores

2017-2018: Michaela McNeil
Michaela McNeil

2016-2017: Caitlin McAlister
Caitlin McAlister

2015-2016: Judith Nelams
Judith Nelams

2014-2015: Zachary Defrancis
Zachary Defrancis

2013-2014: Emily Kosh
Emily Kosh