About Us

The Computer Science Department at Lamar University has created a Hall of Honor to recognize outstanding contributions by alumni of the Computer Science program.

The Hall of Honor will recognize those graduates who meet the following criteria :

1. Candidates must have graduated from the Computer Science department at Lamar University at least 10 years prior to the induction (cut-off for this year's awards will be graduates from 2000 or earlier).

2. Candidates must have contributed to his or her community, the field of Computer Science or to Lamar University's Computer Science department in an exemplary manner.

3. Candidates must have achieved outstanding success in a computer science related field or an allied domain.

Submissions will be evaluated by a committee comprised of alumni and faculty of the Department. Individuals who believe they meet the criteria may have another alumnus nominate them, or alternatively, may nominate themselves. The Nomination Committee members for this year are:

Chairman: Paul L. Kendall, Ph.D., CHS-III, CISM, CISSP 
Members: Dolores Farnie, Keith Mott ,Vivek Singh, Lawrence J. Osborne, Ph.D., Professor, Dept of Computer Science, Clint Harwood, Tim Magnuson, Dominic Cantalamessa.

Nominations may be e-mailed to the Chairman (pkendall at flash.net), or to Dr. Lawrence Osborne (Lawrence.Osborne at lamar.edu).

Please take a moment to nominate a worthy candidate.

When submitting a nomination, please attach an updated biography or resume for each candidate and a cover note explaining why you think he/she is a worthy candidate. The nominations deadline for this charter year will be March 1, 2011. After the Committee has selected its set of finalists, there will be a meeting of the Nomination Committee plus Dean Nichols of the College of Arts and Sciences (or her representative) to choose one or more individuals from the set of finalists to be recognized as a Distinguished Alumna/Alumnus of the Computer Science Department at the annual ACM Spring Banquet.