Board of Advisors

The College of Arts and Sciences Advisory Board is comprised of former students and other Lamar supporters who serve as a resource for the Dean of the COAS and its various department heads. These individuals contribute their expertise and guidance to help the COAS advance its programs and prepare the next generation of leaders in their respective disciplines. The Dean of the COAS serves as an ex officio member of the board.

The mission of the Advisory Board is to assist and advise the COAS by:

  1. Involvement in the implementation of strategic goals and plans of the COAS as to its specific ongoing programs and its advancement through new initiatives.
  1. Advise and consult with Lamar leadership regarding issues of mutual concern related to educational, research, and service programs to help further the strategic goals and plans of the COAS.
  1. Assist in developing resources to support the needs of programs in the COAS, its department heads and instructors and most especially, its students.
  1. Support and guide the COAS in fostering mutually beneficial relationships with COAS alumni and its other supporters including government, corporate and graduate school relationships; with the various state and federal government agencies that have an interest in the programs of the COAS, including grants for research.
  1. Assist current students of the COAS in any way possible, including counseling for job and graduate school opportunities; provide advice and opportunities for internships and other pre and post-graduate job opportunities; and foster mentor relationships.                                        

The College of Arts and Sciences Board of Advisors

Larry Eastepp, Chair Larry D. Eastepp, Attorney at Law
Rita Ashley Retired Clerk, State of Texas; Ashley Minerals
Pat Avery President/CEO, Greater Port Arthur Chamber of Commerce
Dr. Robert R. Birdwell Physician, Texas Oncology
Mark S. Browning Senior Vice President & Trust Officer, Extraco Banks
Nakisha Burns Public and Government Affairs, ExxonMobil
Dr. Tamerla Chavis Neurosurgeon
Dr. Alan B. Coleman Alan B. Coleman, DDS, FAGD
Mr. Dale E. Coulthard Retired Oil and Gas Geologist
Mrs. Vicki L. Derese Community Relations, Chevron Phillips Chemical Company
Aleshia L. Fife Retired Executive Project Manager, CPMC-LLC
Mr. Keith F. Giblin Retired Magistrate Judge, United States District Court, Eastern District of Texas
Robert L. Hobbs United States Marshal, U.S. Department of Justice; Supervisory Assistant United States Attorney
Dr. Kelley C. Kays Veterinarian
Sam J. Louis Partner, Holland & Knight
M.T. Oszczakiewicz M.D. Associated Cardiovascular Thoracic Surgeons, L.L.P.
Rhonda S. Oszczakiewicz Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Dr. Shawn K. Oubre City Manager, Woodway, Texas
Dr. Elizabeth A. Palmarozzi Founding Dean, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
Honorable Randy Shelton Judge, 279th District Court
Dr. Colleen Silva UTMB Professor of Surgery 
Mr. Gary E. Strahan Infrared Cameras, Inc.
Donean Surratt Partner, Fisher Firm
Dr. Mark Toups Christus Beaumont Adult Medicine
Ms. Donna D. Verret Registered Nurse; Retired Partner, Arthur Andersen
Dr. Robert A. Wooster Retired Regents Professor of History, Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Bin Yu Chief Technical Officer, BTSoft