Phi Kappa Phi honor society initiates 90 students at Lamar

The National Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi initiated 90 Lamar University juniors and seniors into membership during the organization’s annual spring ceremony.

Seniors elected to membership must rank in the upper 10 percent of their graduating class, while second-semester juniors must rank in the upper 7.5 percent of their class.

Lamar’s chapter of Phi Kappa Phi conducted the ceremony April 28 in the Setzer Student Center Ballroom. The chapter recognized Pamela Saur, regents’ professor of English and modern languages, as past president and honored Bethany Aiena, a senior from Sour Lake, as the chapter’s nominee for the Phi Kappa Phi fellowship, said Kevin Dodson, chapter president.

Dodson welcomed guests, explained membership criteria and presented a history of Lamar Chapter 95, which was chartered in 1965. Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society, Dodson said. Lamar is one of fewer than 300 colleges and universities to have chapters of the honor society.

The names of the inductees are listed below, in order of their hometowns:
ARCADIA: Kelsey Crainer.
BEACH CITY: Lauren Griffin.
BEAUMONT: Clayton Cabeen, Zachary Celeste, Allen Chao, Alyssa Danna, Amanda DeLaCruz, Jonathan Durr, Amanda Hall, Darren Hallums, Laura Jean, Debra Joseph, Andrea Kelley, Paras Korpal, Brittany Marshall, Diana Mendez, Hannah Richard, Paul Rizk, Susan Rothstein, Brittnie Smith, Daphne Stuart, Jonathan Van Huis, WilliamWare, Katy Wiley, Rebecca Yee.
BRIDGE CITY: Madison Davis, Andrew Havens, Carly Wright, Kevin Young.
CORPUS CHRISTI: Carrie Mrazek,
FANNETT: Alan Kondo.
FORT WORTH: Daniel Lee.
GROVES: Ernesto Alvarez Jr., Andrew Bourgeois VII, Jason Foreman, Heather Hebert, Jordan Nicholson, Kara Perry, Tasha Tolliver
HARDIN: Serena Belley
HENDERSON: Blair Glenn.
HOUSTON: Rita Akindude, Gabrielle Carandang,
KIRBYVILLE: Tiffany Smith.
LEAGUE CITY: Rachel Cook
LIBERTY: Marianne Cowl
LIVINGSTON: Drew Colvin.
LONGVIEW: Joel Edgar. LUMBERTON: Sunni Brannan, Bryan Deagle, Melissa Garess, Brice Perez,
MAURICEVILLE: Jonathan Miller,
NEDERLAND: Adam Busby, Halie Clark, Tristen Isbell, Maci McFarlin, Beverly Paris, Aasma Samad, Kaitlyne Sneed, Luis-Miguel Tamayo, Carreen Weaver,
ORANGE: Nicholas Allen, Kevin Broussard, Aubry Ellis, Danielle Graffanino, Chelsey Bromley.
PORT ARTHUR: Lauren Anderson, Katherine Brown, Nisha Dayama, Marquis Horn, Liberty Lopez, Sara Torr, Elizabeth Tran,
PORT NECHES: Kara Curran, Santiago Gomez, Brittney Moore, Katrina Schroeder, Lindsey Stephens,
SILSBEE: Lauryn McDonald, Lacy Ruggles,
SOUR LAKE: Lisa Brennan, Matthew Minick, Brittney Robinson,
TEMPLE: Ryan Grandusky.
VIDOR: Brice Sherrod, Juan Victoria,
WALL: Rachel Jones.
WOODVILLE: Jami Sanders.