Cardinal Cadence Fall 2012


DreamMakers graphicIt is time for a special note of thanks and appreciation to the alumni and friends of Lamar University who have recently established endowments. These gifts encourage students to pursue a college education and help faculty create innovative learning environments. An endowment creates a legacy that becomes a permanent piece of Lamar’s history. To learn more about those who have given to Lamar or to find out how you can begin your own giving plan, we invite you to visit our website at In this issue of Cardinal Cadence, we are honored to acknowledge our Dream Makers.

The Del Papa Distributing Company College Endowment was established to commemorate the company’s 100th year in business. The purpose of the gift is to give back to the communities that have helped in the success of the business. It will be awarded to undergraduates majoring in marketing.

Family, friends, students and colleagues established the Howard Perkins Memorial Scholarship to honor the career of Howard Perkins ’60. Perkins earned a bachelor’s degree in English from Lamar and served as the director of student publications for nearly four decades, inspiring thousands of student journalists at the University Press. This scholarship will be awarded to the editor of the University Press each year.

The Dr. Barbara Mathis Vocal Scholarship was established with donations from students, colleagues and family in honor of Mathis, former professor of music at Lamar. During her 22-year tenure, she taught studio voice, language dictions, structure and function of the voice, and graduate vocal methods. The scholarship will be available to voice or vocal performance majors.

Dr. Grace (Davis) England ’55 and husband, Bill England, established the Anna England Crow Memorial Scholarship in Nursing in honor of his sister. Anna England Crow graduated from the Hotel Dieu School of Nursing in Beaumont and later attended Lamar. She served at several medical facilities in Beaumont during her nursing career. This is the second scholarship established at Lamar University through the England’s generosity.

The Camille Mouton Scholarship was established by the members of the Lamar University Investing in the Future Campaign cabinet to honor the current vice president for university advancement for her tireless and selfless commitment to the success of Lamar’s first comprehensive campaign. Mouton has worked at Lamar University for fifteen years as a dedicated development officer ensuring the financial future of LU. This scholarship will be open to all majors.

The A.J. Leger Memorial Scholarship was established by A.J. Leger’s many friends and family to honor his service and dedication to helping people in his community. Leger, who was a partner in Don’s Seafood and Steakhouse restaurant in Beaumont, was acknowledged with many honors, including induction into the Texas Restaurant Hall of Honor in 1997. A gift from the Sabine Area Restaurant Association in his memory completed funding for the scholarship, which is open to all Hospitality Administration and Culinary Arts majors.

Cynthia (Hext) Fontenot ’72, ’79, established the R.C. “Bobby” and Ramona Hext Scholarship in memory of her parents. Fontenot earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Lamar. She credits her parents with making her Lamar experience possible and established the endowment to honor their hard work and many sacrifices. The scholarship is open to all majors.

Herman Ortega ’69 has established the Hermann H. Ortega Scholarship in Engineering to benefit engineering majors, with a preference for chemical engineering students. Ortega graduated from Lamar with a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering and an M.B.A. and is a retired vice president of Honeywell Corp. He serves on the College of Engineering Advisory Council.

The H.A. Butler Memorial Scholar-Athlete Award Inc. established the Coach H.A. Butler Presidential Scholarship in memory of Coach Butler. Known by many as a special coach, teacher, friend, father, husband and gentleman, Coach Butler’s influence on student athletes was tremendous, preparing them for life, family and professional careers.

Patricia and Scott Groben established the Scott and Patricia Groben Scholarship in Chemistry for junior and senior chemistry majors. Patricia (Sherburne) Groben ’69 earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Lamar. Her husband, Scott, graduated from Oregon State University in 1980 with a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering.

Phillip ’81 and Cheryl (Spencer) Fuller ’82 established the Margie Hartsfield Fuller Scholarship in Education in recognition of his mother’s dedication to the education of children and young adults. Margie Hartsfield Fuller retired from Port Neches-Groves High School in 1984 after 31 years of formal classroom teaching and countless hours of after-school activities. This is the third endowed scholarship the Fullers have established. 

Friends and family of Minh-Dang Nguyen established the Minh-Dang Nguyen Memorial Scholarship in Nursing after her untimely death in 2010. A Lamar nursing major, she is remembered for her radiant smile and bubbling personality. She graduated from West Brook High School and had dreams of a career in nursing in Beaumont. 

To begin your own endowment or to add a gift to an existing endowment, please contact the Lamar University Foundation at (409) 880-2117.