External Scholarships

Upper level Honors College students should consider their eligibility for competitive external and international scholarships and fellowships. Students are advised to consult the program websites and to contact appropriate Lamar University representatives as well as the Dean of Honors College.

FREEMAN-ASIA - Website

  • undergraduate
  • study in one of 15 Asian countries; promote Asian study on campus
  • deadline November 1, March 1, April 1
  • freshman through junior
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Jeff Palis - jeffrey.palis@lamar.edu
FULBRIGHT - Website
  • graduate, worldwide - usually one year
  • all programs of study
  • deadline October 25
  • graduating seniors can apply
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Mary Scheer - mary.scheer@lamar.edu
GATES-CAMBRIDGE - Website
  • graduate or second B.A.; citizens from any country
  • students who hope to improve the life circumstances of citizens in their respective countries
    (must gain acceptance to Cambridge)
  • deadline November 1
  • graduating seniors
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Steven Zani - sjzani@my.lamar.edu
GILMAN - Website
  • study abroad, up to one year
  • any program accepted by Lamar
  • March 15 and October 15
  • undergraduate receiving Pell grant
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Jeff Palis - jeffrey.palis@lamar.edu
GOLDWATER - Website
  • undergraduate
  • science, mathematics and engineering
  • deadline February 1
  • nominate sophomores or juniors (up to four)
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Harley Myler - h.myler@lamar.edu
JAVITS - Website
  • graduate stipend
  • arts, humanities, social science at U.S. university
  • deadline November 30
  • enrolled for doctoral or MFA
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Julia Fischer - julia.fischer@lamar.edu

MADISON - Website

  • American history and political science (Constitutional study)
  • deadline March 1
  • graduating seniors
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Mark Mengerink - mark.mengerink@lamar.edu 
MARSHALL - Website
  • postgraduate study in United Kingdom
  • deadline October 8
  • graduating seniors
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Steven Zani - sjzani@my.lamar.edu

NATIONAL SECURITY EXCHANGE PROGRAM (NSEP)/BOREN AWARD - Website

  • study abroad in non-English speaking country outside W. Europe (language study is part
    of the program)
  • work with federal government or higher education on return
  • deadline February 14
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Jeff Palis - jeffrey.palis@lamar.edu
NATIONAL DEFENSE Science & Engineering Grad. Fell. - Website
  • 3-year annual stipend for doctoral study in science and engineering
  • deadline mid-January
  • graduating seniors
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Cristian Bahrim - cristian.bahrim@lamar.edu 
NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION - Website
  • graduate work in science, math or engineering (some social science)
  • deadline November 7
  • graduating seniors
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Kumer Das - kumer.das@lamar.edu 
PHI KAPPA PHI - Website
  • first year of graduate study
  • all fields of study are eligible
  • chapter deadline April 1
  • graduating seniors nominated by Lamar Chapter
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Kevin Dodson - kevin.dodson@lamar.edu
RHODES - Website
  • postgraduate study at Oxford, minimum 2 years
  • deadline October 11
  • graduating seniors
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Steve Zani - sjzani@my.lamar.edu
ROTARY - Website
  • postgraduate study
  • any major; language skills are a plus
  • deadline March - July
  • Lamar contact: Ms. Rebekah Maxwell - rebekah.maxwell@lamar.edu 
TEXAS SPACE GRANT CONSORTIUM - Website
  • undergraduate and graduate
  • deadline April
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Jim Jordan - jim.jordan@lamar.edu 
     
TRUMAN - Website
  • undergraduate
  • preparing for careers in government, non-profit sector or public service
  • deadline January 27
  • nominate juniors
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Bianca Easterly - bianca.easterly@lamar.edu 
UDALL - Website
  • undergraduate scholarship
  • environment and related fields of study
  • deadline February 15
  • sophomores and juniors
  • Lamar contact: Dr. Jim Armacost - jim.armacost@lamar.edu 
Try the following for a central website with more details about each scholarship as well as links to most sites:
http://www.fiu.edu/~beestb/scholarship_orgs.htm